The feature film XL has been selected for the main competition at Karlovy Vary International Film Festival. The festival will take place in the Czech Republic from June 28 – July 6. The festival is one of the oldest film festivals in the world.

In 2007 the Icelandic film Jar City received the festival‘s main prize, the Crystal Globe. Among prizes at the festival are those for best film, best director, best actor, best actress and a special mention award from the jury. The jury can also give out prizes in other categories. The president of the jury this year is Oscar nominee Agnieszka Holland and the festival‘s honorary award will go to Oscar winner Oliver Stone.

XL tells the tale of ex-family man, avid womanizer, heavy-drinking, parliamentarian, Leifur Sigurdarson, who is forced to go into rehab by his political rival, following a well publicized art exhibition brawl. Full of denial, Leifur throws a party before checking in, but when it´s time to leave – very few do, turning the night into an adventure exclusively for those old enough to vote.

XL is directed by Marteinn Thorsson and the film‘s main cast is Ólafur Darri Ólafsson, María Birta, Nanna Kristín Magnúsdóttir, Elma Lísa Gunnarsdóttir, Helgi Björnsson, Thorsteinn Bachmann, Rúnar Gudbrandsson and Margrét Helga Jóhannsdóttir. The script is written by Gudmundur Óskarsson and Marteinn Thorsson. XL is produced by Tenderlee Motion Pictures Company and Stór og smá.


XL (2013)

XL's DP, Bergsteinn Björgúlfsson, surrounded by lovely actresses (from left), Hafdís Helgadóttir, Elma Lísa Gunnarsdóttir and María Birta.
Samfilm to Release XL in January 2013
Samfilm (, veterans of distributing movies in all media in Iceland, will release the third feature from director Marteinn Thorsson in its Cinemas in January 2013. And then on VOD, internet and DVD.

The deal was signed on behalf of Samfilm’s Thorvaldur Árnason and Ragnheidur Erlingsdottir for Tenderlee Motion Pictures Company and Olafur Darri Olafsson for Stor og sma.

Producers for Tenderlee MPC are Marteinn Thorsson, Gudmundur Oskarsson and Ragnheidur Erlingsdottir and Olafur Darri Olafsson for Stor og sma.