The Karlovy Vary International Film Festival (KVIFF) has just announced the main programme for its 48th edition unspooling June 28-July 6, 2013 and two Nordic films have been selected: Iceland’s feature film XL by Marteinn Thorsson (pictured) will be vying for the Crystal Globe in the main feature competition section and the Danish director Daniel Dencik will submit Moon Rider in the Documentary competition section.
Marteinn Thorsson --

Marteinn’s breakthrough came in 2004 the feature film One Point O co-written and directed by Jeff Renfroe which was nominated for the Grand Jury Prize at the 2004 Sundance Film Festival. XL is his third feature film after Stormland, still travelling on the world festival tour.

XL is the story of womanizer, heavy-drinking parliamentarian Leifur Sigurdarson (played by Ólafur Darri Ólafsson) who is forced to go into rehab by his political rival and throws a big party before leaving. The film was produced by Tenderlee Motion Pictures Company and Stór og smá. The last Icelandic film that won a Crystal Globe in Karlovy Vary was Baltasar Kormákur’s Jar City (2007).

Daniel Dencik won the Reel Talent Award at CPH: DOX 2012. His feature debut Moon Rider which follows the struggles of young bike rider Rasmus Quaade to become a professional rider has attended six other festivals since late 2012. LevelK handles world sales.

Two films by Kurdish born Norwegian director Hisham Zaman (Before Snowfalls andBawke) are screening as part of Karlovy Vary’s tribute to Kurdish cinema.

For further info check:

The feature film XL has been selected for the main competition at Karlovy Vary International Film Festival. The festival will take place in the Czech Republic from June 28 – July 6. The festival is one of the oldest film festivals in the world.

In 2007 the Icelandic film Jar City received the festival‘s main prize, the Crystal Globe. Among prizes at the festival are those for best film, best director, best actor, best actress and a special mention award from the jury. The jury can also give out prizes in other categories. The president of the jury this year is Oscar nominee Agnieszka Holland and the festival‘s honorary award will go to Oscar winner Oliver Stone.

XL tells the tale of ex-family man, avid womanizer, heavy-drinking, parliamentarian, Leifur Sigurdarson, who is forced to go into rehab by his political rival, following a well publicized art exhibition brawl. Full of denial, Leifur throws a party before checking in, but when it´s time to leave – very few do, turning the night into an adventure exclusively for those old enough to vote.

XL is directed by Marteinn Thorsson and the film‘s main cast is Ólafur Darri Ólafsson, María Birta, Nanna Kristín Magnúsdóttir, Elma Lísa Gunnarsdóttir, Helgi Björnsson, Thorsteinn Bachmann, Rúnar Gudbrandsson and Margrét Helga Jóhannsdóttir. The script is written by Gudmundur Óskarsson and Marteinn Thorsson. XL is produced by Tenderlee Motion Pictures Company and Stór og smá.


XL (2013)